Tags

Superstition/迷信/미신: The belief that particular events happen in a way that cannot be explained by reason or science ~ Oxford Advanced Learner’s Dictionary.

I really don’t know where to start, as there are many superstitions in the world. I am just gonna list down some that we all have most probably heard about.

The number four: The number four is considered inauspicious because it is pronounced the same as the word for death (si) in Mandarin. Therefore, one should not make presents that consist of four pieces, etc. In some hotels and hospitals the room number four is skipped.

Stick chopsticks into the rice:
Do not stick your chopsicks into your food generally, but especially not into rice, because only at funerals, chopsticks are stuck into the rice which is put onto the altar.

Black cat:
There are also some imported superstitions such as the believe that black cats crossing the street in front of you cause bad luck.

FRIDAY THE 13TH: fear of Friday the 13th is rooted in ancient, separate bad-luck associations with the number 13 and the day Friday. The two unlucky entities combine to make one super unlucky day.

As much as I believe the superstitions to be true, I try to follow it, although it is from different cultures. I even got my own kind of “superstition”, which is formed over time after I saw the trend of what happened following an action. It looks more like action-reaction thingy,but the reaction came quite fast.

Whatever it is, now I decided to think less about those things, because in the end He would determine what will happen to you, I just need to learn to accept it. Because if not, it’s gonna be troublesome and it’s like a endlessly tiring mind games.